Buddhists Don’t Bite?

Even though I did give up Buddhist practice almost about a year back, maybe more, I find that my hesitation to engage with the people I met through this faith has not exactly dropped dead– not even close.
There were some very supportive friends I made; without the common thread of our shared belief/faith/organization, I realize I know them little and they, me. Yet some of them have been around to help me when the tedium of daily life threaten to explode or like that one time I needed a red dupatta for a street play. (And not just any red dupatta, it had to be a plain, vermilion red dupatta.)

Of those I have known, one called Nitu I knew much closely compared to the others.
And out of the blue, I realized that it had been very long since I had heard from her (quite obvious if you consider that I stopped attending prayer meetings and her texts the night before each went largely unacknowledged. )
So I sent her a little how-do-you-do-?, aware that this infantile attempt at making small talk would hardly last beyond a message or two.
That was last night. Today, she messaged about a prayer meeting tomorrow again; although there seems little possibility of me attending one, it set off a torrid chain of thoughts over how long time would have stood till I gather enough… Confidence? Composure, maybe; seems closest.
But how long before I can speak to them without feeling guilty of no longer being a practicing Buddhist?
They have never expressed disapproval over my decision, only unrelenting concern because there weren’t many members in my immediate neighbourhood; they were afraid that things had come to such a stand because they had been unable to give me enough time or prayers.
Buddhists are into a lot of things, just not gobbling people up. With jam on it. I think.
ginger
4 thoughts on “Buddhists Don’t Bite?

  1. It´s so interesting. Whether we admit it – or not – one way or another, religion plays a large part in our lives. Where we live, usually dictates our religion. We don’t choose to believe, we are chosen at geographical random by place of birth to believe one thing or another. We all know that of two or more opposing beliefs, only one can be absolutely right. Or none of them. Yet the world is full of many opposing beliefs.

    Religions are not necessarily bad, but they create the possibility of added reasons for bias and discrimination, and that is my problem with them.

    • I find faith to be a funny thing in our lives; it sits right there with blind belief on the top shelf labelled ‘I have no idea what’s going on’.
      The amount of trust one decides to put into a particular school of thought, into one answer to a question and not the other, says a great deal about the person.

      Even more than where we’re born, I really believe our families make a world of difference.
      I am glad mine was supportive when I decided to not ‘follow’ Hinduism, and later, Buddhism… Although some people don’t care all that much.
      Oh well.

  2. I would suggest to keep your good friends if they don’t judge you for leaving a faith. They will be invaluable later it life…. Journey of life is long, enjoyable but at times, some steep, hard learning with pain. You will need such friends to hold you steady.

    • Wise words, Jean. I try keeping in touch; my circle of friends is tiny but precious. It takes the strength of a bajillion llamas to add a new friend to this circle. They are good natured people, for sure. Only, I’m still queasy talking. Will take a while, I guess.
      Thank you! 🙂

What do you think?

